Diss Award: Latino Studies, LatAm Studies Assoc

2007 Call for Nominations and submissions:The Latino Studies Section (LSS) of the Latin American Studies Association (LASA) announces its 2007 Research and Dissertation Award and invites nominations and submissions. The LSS Research and Dissertation Award is given for the best doctoral dissertation, in English or in Spanish that focuses on Latina/o communities, issues, and topics. Preference will be given to dissertations that apply a comparative approach within national, hemispheric and/or international contexts and to those that explore Latina/o social movements and activism to enhance our understanding of the Latina/o experience. The work may be grounded in any disciplinary field. The competition is open to Ph.D.’s from institutions in the United States, Latin America, and the Caribbean who deposited their dissertation in 2006-2007.

The award winner will receive a small monetary prize and Award Certificate at the LSS Awards Ceremony of the 2007 LASA meeting to be held in September in Montreal, Canada.
Procedure for Submissions

A committee of LSS officers will read the submissions. All those interested in submitting entries for consideration should send a printed copy of the dissertation to each of the committee members listed below. Email submissions will not be accepted. All nominations for the award must be received by June 1, 2007. Eusebio Rodriguez has been functioning as coordinator for the Section’s Awards.

  • Eusebio Rodriguez Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures Northeastern Illinois University 5500 North St. Louis Avenue Chicago, Illinois 60625-4699
  • Adriana Estill Department of English Laird Hall 202, One North College St Carleton College Northfield, MN 55057
  • Ana Y. Ramos-Zayas Departments of Latino & Hispanic Caribbean Studies Rutgers University–New Brunswick/Piscataway 235 Tillett Hall, 53 Ave E. Piscataway, New Jersey, 08854
  • Lourdes Torres Latin American and Latino Studies DePaul University 2320 N. Kenmore, SAC Suite 5 Chicago Illinois 60614

Past Winners:

  • 2004 Winner: María Elena Cepeda. The Colombian Connection. Department of Romance Languages and Literatures, University of Michigan, 2003.
  • 2003 Winner: Elizabeth M. Aranda. Weighing Hearts and Minds: Emotional Transnationalism and Puerto Rican Migration. Department of Sociology, Temple University, 2001. Honorable Mention: Nancy Jean Burke. Creating Islands in the Desert: Place, Space, and Ritual among Santería Practitioners and Priests in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Department of Anthropology, University of New Mexico, 2001.
  • 2001 Winner: Adrian Burgos, Jr. “Playing America’s Game: Latinos and the Performance and Policing of Race in North American Professional Baseball, 1868-1959” Department of History, University of Michigan, 2000. Honorable Mention: Ginetta E.B. Candelario, Honorable Mention, “Situating Ambiguity: Dominican Identity Formations.” Ph.D. Program in Sociology, City University of New York, 2000.
  • 2000 Winner: Iraida López, “A través del caleidoscopio: identidad y localización cultural en textos autobiográfico hispanos en los Estados Unidos”, Ph.D. Program in Spanish, City University of New York, 1999.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.